mc-workforce services-logo.png
61 County.png



Today’s economy requires workers to have more education and training than ever.

In order to assist in bridging the workforce development gap, President Barack Obama signed the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) into law on July 22, 2014. WIOA is designed to help job seekers access employment, education, training, and support services to succeed in the labor market and to match employers with the skilled workers they need to compete in the global economy.

  • WIOA brings together the 5 core programs for federal workforce development investment and skill development. This programs are:

    • Title I Workforce Development – (Adults, Youth and Dislocated Workers)

    • Title II Adult Education and Family Literacy

    • Title III Wagner Peyser

    • Title IV Vocational Rehabilitation

    • Title V SCSEP

Where Do We Serve?

Mid-Cumberland WorkForce Services provides Title I Adult, Youth and Dislocated Worker services in: East Tennessee Local Workforce Development Area (ETLWDA), Southeast Tennessee Local Workforce Development Area (SETLWDA), Southwest Tennessee Local Workforce Development Area (SWTLWDA), Upper Cumberland Local Workforce Development Area (UCLWDA), as well as Youth Workforce Development services in Northern Middle Tennessee Local Workforce Development Area (NMTLWDA).It is our mission to provide strong workforce development services to the participants that we serve by guiding them along their career pathway with mentoring and financial support on an as needed basis.

What are Workforce Development Services?

WIOA authorizes career services for adults, youth and dislocated workers. There are three types of career services: basic career services, individualized career services, and follow-up services. In addition to career services, MCWFS staff provides training services to eligible participants. When applicable, Mid-Cumberland WorkForce Services Staff work alongside the program participants in order to provide them with knowledge and assistance in entering a training program that will increase their probability of success in the workforce. In addition to guidance, MCWFS staff can assist with supportive services to bridge the unmet need of tuition as well as additional training needs.

Who Qualifies?

For more information on Youth services, please visit our Youth CAN tab. In order to qualify for Title I Adult and Dislocated Worker Workforce Development services, a participant must be low income, basic skills deficient, currently receiving public assistance, be unemployed to no fault of their own, or meet another WIOA approved qualifier.

  • Veterans-Veterans and eligible spouses receive priority of service for all United States Department of Labor funded employment and training programs

  • Citizenship/Authorization to Work- To receive WIOA services, participants must be citizens or nationals of the United States, lawfully admitted resident aliens, refugees, asylees and parolees and other immigrants authorized by the Attorney General to work in the United States.

How Do I See If I Am Eligible?

If you or someone you know is interested in seeing if they are eligible for our services, please select the “Request Services” button below and a Mid-Cumberland WorkForce Services team member will contact you within 48 hours.